Copyrights and Cooking

You guys, I only have four days left at University! Unless, of course, my school’s professors are horribly sadistic and enjoy springing failing grades on graduating seniors. Eep.

Anyway, professors/God willing, I’ll be home in a few days, and home means having a kitchen. Hooray! And, with access to said kitchen, I’m hoping to start a new blog feature; that is, recipe reviews.

However, I’m a little uncertain as to whether it’s OK to post recipes from books. Granted, I could probably find out with a little digging, but I am horrendously lazy and would rather ask you dudes, instead. So … does anyone know the policies regarding putting up a recipe from a cookbook on your blog site? Also, are recipe reviews a thing you dudes would enjoy? Personally, I really love buying cookbooks, but half the time I feel like the recipes in most books end up either a) using too many ingredients or b) just being not that good, so personally I would find this to be a helpful thing, but would you?

2 Comments

  1. Allison said,

    May 11, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    I randomly just came across this:

    “When publishing a recipe (print or online), the ratio of ingredients is not copyrighted. The narrative/instructions, however, are copyrighted, so you need to rewrite these in your own words.”

    From this post on Carrots N Cake: http://carrotsncake.com/2010/05/a-fresh-approach.html

    I assume that if she learned this at an actual blogging/cooking class, it’s probably correct info. I always thought that recipes were SUPER SEEKRIT. Who knew!


Leave a Reply

