New Things Thursday: Potato Bread

[Source]

During the great Hight Fructose Corn Syrup purge of ’09, I neglected to check the ingredient list of one of my staples; my bread. For some reason, I just worked under the assumption that because my loaf of choice wasn’t particularly sweet, it must not have any wiggidy-whack sweeteners. Anyway, I came to the realization that my logic might be slightly flawed when, while home for break a while back, I found that my mom’s bread had the devil’s sugar in it and subsequently checked the ingredient list of my own loaf of choice. Le gasp! My beloved Pepperidge Farm Light Style Wheat Bread contained the dreaded HFCS! HOW COULD THIS BE?!

I was angered, but neglected to find a HFCS-free replacement for my bread; for one thing, I refused to pay more than 40 calories for a slice of bread, and for another, I just couldn’t find a single brand of bread that didn’t have HFCS in it. WTH?

As you may recall, though, I recently began to turn my back on low-fat, “weight management” foods, and I decided the HFCS-laden monstrosity that was my “Light Style” bread had to go. But, what to replace it with? Most other breads were—as I mentioned previously—afflicted with an ingredient list that contained HFCS, and many regular loaves had no nutritional value whatsoever. One day, however, I paused in front of the potato bread.

The brand carried by my grocery store invited me to “Compare [Their] Nutrition!”, and at the time I was pretty sure this was a challenge, so, affronted by the audacity of this bread, I accepted their duel invitation.

For your convenience, here’s my new bread’s basic nutritional statistics (for, I did take home the potato bread of the whole wheat variety that day) versus those of my old bread.

Per 1 Slice of Whole Wheat Potato Bread:

Calories: 70 calories (+30 calories)

Fat: 1 gram (+ .67 gram) – Note: This bread, like my old bread, has no saturated fat. So, this really doesn’t matter.

Fiber: 4 grams (+2 grams)

Protein: 6 grams (+4 grams)

So, basically the only drawback of this particular bread is the higher calorie count. But, I find it to be much more satisfying (probably because of the higher fiber/protein stats.) than light bread, and also much tastier, as potato bread is dense, hearty and a little bit sweet. Granted, I love carbohydrates in almost all of their forms, so when I say “I LOVE THIS BREAD” it doesn’t really mean much, but let me say this: While I used to make sandwiches with my old bread, I now take the slices of potato bread and eat them alongside what would have been my sandwich filling. Even when I eat my pre-workout snack of half a nutbutter sandwich, I take the time to peel off the non-nutbuttered crusts.

Mmmm, satiating.

Leave a Reply

