Product Review: Haagen-Dazs’ Amaretto Almond Crunch Ice Cream

Product Description: Crispy almond brittle enveloped in smooth amaretto ice cream creates a rich and crunchy sensation.

[Source]

I’m a teetotaler, but for some reason I love alcohol in my desserts; if there’s a cake or an ice cream out there that tastes like it could get me smashed if it were in drink form, then chances are good that I am going to love it. So, when I spotted Haagen-Dazs’ Amaretto Almond Crunch Ice Cream, I bought it faster than you can say “rum cake,” particularly since I have been searching for a suitable replacement for my former alcoholic dessert of choice, “Vermonty Python,” which has been discontinued by some idiot.

When I cracked open my pint of Amaretto Almond Crunch, I was immediately greeted by the pleasant (but not overpoweringly alcoholic), sweet smell of amaretto and a cream-colored ice cream studded with almond brittle.

Mmmm, doesn’t that look delicious? Personally, I thought it looked so tasty I a) couldn’t resist taking a few bites before snapping a picture and b) was so excited to eat more I couldn’t be bothered to take a non-blurry picture (Whatever, you dudes have imaginations; I’m sure you can mentally Photoshop a complete, not-fuzzy pint of ice cream. You should thank my hasty photography for forcing you to stimulate your brain. YOU ARE WELCOME.)

But, anyway, as I’m sure you can gather from point “b,” this stuff was ah-mazing. The ice cream—in typical Haagen-Dazs fashion—was exceptionally creamy, and put the texture of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream to shame. And, it tasted like it smelled; not overly alcoholic, but delightfully sweet with just the right touch of amaretto and almond/marzipan flavor. Although, while I personally liked the taste of the almond brittle—it was certainly crispy and had a sugary, caramel flavor, and there was plenty of the stuff scattered throughout the pint—I would have liked a softer mix-in (think almond cookies and marzipan a la Ben & Jerry’s “Mission to Marzipan“), but that’s just my personal preference and shouldn’t reflect poorly on Haagen-Dazs’ unexpectedly high-quality candy. Indeed, even though I say I would have preferred the ice cream include aforementioned mix-ins, I still thought the brittle provided a nice contrast to the sharp amaretto ice cream with its more mellow, brown sugar-flavored crunch.

Be wary of this flavor, though, as it is highly addictive; since my initial purchase of this ice cream a week ago, I’ve since had two more pints of the stuff. Whatever, I didn’t want a waistline, anyway.

5 Comments

  1. lemon said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:53 AM

    Thanks for the review. This was the second limited ed flavor I tried, and I hope it becomes so successful that it becomes a permanent flavor. This could be possible since the green tea flavor became permanent. I also recommend the banana foster if you like slight alcohol flavor. Usually I dislike banana ice cream because they taste like artificial extract, but this is pure banana. And good part is that there isn’t overly sweet big swirls of brown sugar..just right amount that still allows banana to shine. I’m about to go and find more cartons of Amaretto Almond Crunch at nearby store. I wished this flavor was released during fall or winter months (those times where I’m not a “diet”). Heheh.

    • April 12, 2010 at 10:14 AM

      No problem, thanks for stopping by! And I hope this becomes a regular flavor, it is the best ice cream I’ve had in a while and my favorite variety at the moment. Maybe if I write enough letters to Haagen-Dazs in caps lock demanding it stay on the market, they’ll bow to our wishes?
      And thanks for the recommendation! Usually I avoid banana-flavored products like the plague (I had some banana oatmeal recently and almost vomited on myself), but that flavor sounds delightful.
      Also, yeah, this should definitely be a winter flavor; if my winter wardrobe isn’t being employed in the concealment of ice cream-related pounds then, well, they’re just not being worn to their full potential.

  2. Ebony said,

    May 13, 2010 at 7:44 PM

    This is by far theeee BEST ice cream I’ve ever had!!! Enough said! It’s my guilty pleasure – I eat a pint per week LOL! Let’s hope I can fit into my wedding dress next year!

  3. fannie said,

    June 12, 2010 at 2:22 PM

    I had the amaretto almond crunch on Monday and have since been able to find it twice more. But now it is impossible to find and I am addicted to it. I went online to the haagendaz website to find stores that carried the flavor and none of the stores had it. This is a clear indication that this flavor is very popular and should become permanent.

    I love the almond brittle in the ice cream. I have no complaints about this flavor except that I can not find it. If I had my way I would be eating a pint with my sister every day. LUV IT!!!!


Leave a Reply

