No-Binge November (and some of December)

Yes, I did post a Homestarrunner video. No, I don’t want to hear about it … NO, YOU SHUT UP, THIS IS TOTALLY RELEVANT TO MY POST.

Bad news:

I won’t be going home for Thanksgiving. This makes me sad.

Good news:

I’m going home in less than three weeks, anyway, so it’s not a huge deal, but still, it’s Thanksgiving and this is my first holiday away from my family. ūüė¶

Still, I want to make the most of a bad situation, and I’m doing so by setting forth a CHALLENGEEEEEEEEE for myself:
Since I now no longer have to concern myself with the prospect of overeating on Thanksgiving, I challenge myself not to binge¬†between today and the day¬†I go home for break (Dec. 8). I’m counting yesterday as my first day (as I stayed on plan), and if I continue to not binge, that means that by Dec. 8, I will have gone three weeks without bingeing. And, if I can go three weeks without bingeing, then I can certainly repeat the feat¬†(hur¬†hur, rhyming) after the holidays and lose the weight for good!

I’m planning on setting up some kind of reward¬†for myself, but I’m not sure what it’s going to be¬†as of yet. Honestly, my favorite reward is … well … food, but all I ever hear is, “Don’t reward yourself with food, blergh!” Regardless, I’m going to keep a No-Binge November/December countdown in ye olde sidebar. Feel free to follow along at home, kids.

Post-my last binge, though, I’ve tried to make some changes that will stop me from making the same mistake again: For one, I took a page out of Allison‘s book and have started writing down my hunger levels whenever¬†I eat. This is a really good thing that I should be¬†doing, regardless, because when you’re transitioning from Points/calorie counting to intuitive eating, one of the first steps is basically re-familiarizing yourself with hunger. But, while counting calories, I’ve found it’s also really helpful in keeping me from plowing through all my bonus calories; basically, it guilts¬†me into not eating (“Aww, man … I’m not actually hungry. Guess I should stop boredom-eating.”) I don’t keep anything excessively tempting in the dorm, anymore (if I want anything, I haul my ass out for a single serving), and … I’ve even started writing notes to myself. … Of the … inspirational variety. OK, well, only one, but I still feel mad ridiculous: Whenever I open my food journal, I see a big ol’ sticky note that says “I will never binge again!” Corny? Yes. But, capable of reminding me of my priorities whenever I feel tempted to go over the edge? Also, yes.

I had good intentions of running the entire seven miles I had to cover today for my workout, but for some reason I just had no oomph. So, I ended up walking a mile/running a mile until I was finished. I guess seven miles is seven miles, right?

What are your current goals? Do you think it’s OK to reward yourself with food?

3 Comments

  1. November 18, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    1. I love Homestar Runner. I have a Homestar Runner shirt. It has Homestar Runner on it. It is awesome.

    2. GOOD LUCK! It sounds like you have a great plan. I love the post it in your food journal. That’s a really good idea. Yes, it might be corny, but who cares!

    3. I’m considering joining you in your “til December 8” challenge, if you’ll have me. I think it’s a great goal, and being accountable to someone (aka, you) might help me out. What say you?

  2. November 18, 2009 at 10:16 PM

    1. Rock on.
    2. Truth; all that matters is what works for me, right?
    3. YES! Totally join me, the more the merrier, IMO. And I agree–when someone is keeping tabs on me, I’m personally much more likely to stay on track, which is partially why I advertised this plan, here: When I just make a resolution in private, half the time it falls by the wayside.

    We can do this!

  3. November 18, 2009 at 11:49 PM

    […] New goal over at A Woman’s Intuition – no bingeing for three straight weeks (that’s not to say that after three weeks we can […]


Leave a Reply

