Beating Boredom and the Binge

I almost didn’t run today but, as per usual, I’m glad I did: Initially, my legs felt like lead, but once I transitioned from the gym to the street (I warm up, if possible, on my school’s indoor track), I felt great, which is kind of ironic considering you would think hilly pavement would be a lot more challenging to run on then a cushy track. I think it has to do with the tedium of running in circles; I don’t mind walking/chillaxin’ on the indoor track, but when I run I really need either a) intervals or b) changing scenery to keep me distracted/from constantly checking how far I have left to run. I really plowed at the end of my run, though: I always have a point in mind when I start running as to where I can start cooling down, but today I went right past it. Thanks, “Bat Out of Hell” by Meatloaf—you’ll be going on next running mix.

I was pondering my problems with the scale on my run today, though, and realized after reading The Vegan Anti-Hero‘s comment on my last post that when I was eating intuitively and keeping casual tabs on my weight (i.e., weighing in once a week), I wasn’t flipping out over the small fluctuations: The fact of the matter is, some weeks you eat more and some weeks you eat less. However, when there are those big swings in my weight that are brought on by my binge eating, THAT’s when I have a problem. So, I guess I just need to stop those binge days, but sometimes (like last on Sunday), I get going and I don’t even really realize what I’m doing in the heat of the moment.

I have two questions for everyone today:

1) Do you run to music and, if so, what are your favorite running tunes?

2) How do you stop a binge? I want to eat like a normal person and stop having these weight/emotional fluctuations that send me back to calorie counting!

Edit: So, in my quest to find answers regarding the battle of the binge, I searched through the archives of some of my favorite blogs and found this post on Healthy and Sane. In the post, Elina describes the exact same dieting pattern I used to have (i.e., eating incredibly well six days a week and eating whatever you want the seventh) and how she, too, slipped up at first when starting intuitive eating. It’s definitely worth a read if you’re having difficulty with binge eating; personally, I’m surprised sometimes how many people have the same trouble. But, it’s comforting to know that I’m not the only who didn’t flawlessly transition from calorie counting to intuitive eating. Argh, I hope I’m back in my goal range, soon! I’m already tired of calorie counting again and I want to give intuitive eating another go!

4 Comments

  1. balanceinbites said,

    October 29, 2009 at 11:58 PM

    How do I stop a binge… that’s a good question. Making myself a cup of tea, getting myself out of the kitchen, and sitting down to write a blog post have all helped me out. But I’m still working on it – it’s definitely a battle.

  2. Carissa said,

    November 4, 2009 at 7:20 PM

    I have that problem too. I watch tv and get bored. Then I run into the kitchen for a snack. One snack leads to another and bam! I’ve eaten almost everything in the cupboard. I not to worry much about a few pounds but the truth is, I do. And it leads me to start counting calories and freaking out over what I eat.

    • November 4, 2009 at 8:43 PM

      I know, right! It’s so easy to slip into that mindless eating, and then you mentally wake up at the end of the day or the next morning and you’re like, ” … Did I really eat all the food?”

  3. Elina said,

    November 10, 2009 at 6:12 PM

    Just saw this post… I’m glad that my post helped you a bit. Well, you saw that I struggled at the beginning but it got better! Eventually I just stopped worrying and somehow realized that things balance out. I eat a lot more on daily basis now (than I used to) and allow a lot more treats, but I also don’t binge so overall I’ve maintained my weight and am happier without the constant ups and downs. Good luck!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

