Rediscovering Intuition: Day ??

So, I went to post a “Daily Eats” entry, and I realized that I can’t be bothered to count how many days I’ve been maintaining my weight. Congratulations, sloth; you ruined my theme.

Anyway, I haven’t done a round-up of my noms in awhile, so I figure I’d distract myself from the prospect of tomorrow’s weigh-in with such a post. Here’s what I nommed yesterday:

Pre-Workout Snack (7:30 a.m.):  6 g. of Peanut Butter on a slice of bread

When I wake up, I’m almost always hungry, so this is the easiest part of my day, intuitive eating-wise!

Breakfast (10 a.m.): 58 g. of Kashi GoLean with 17 g. of Strawberry Frosted Mini-Wheats and 2.5 oz. of skim milk

Initially, I was a little sad that I had to replace my High Fructose Corn Syrup-harboring Special K Protein Plus with the Kashi GoLean. But, even though the GoLean has less protein per gram, it keeps me much fuller than the Special K ever did.

Lunch (12:30 p.m.): Amy’s Lower Sodium Vegetable Lasagna

I’m really lovin’ on these lasagnas; I’m a big fan of a hot lunch, but most quick, hot lunches are high sodium frozen meals. Amy’s takes out the “high sodium” part and leaves me with a really filling, tasty lunch that is also very satisfying. It’s funny, but it’s been really useful in my intuitive eating quest; some of the questions my nutritionist recommended I ask myself when choosing meals are a) how would a particular food feel inside your stomach and b) how do you want your meal to taste and feel. The former seemed ridiculous, and the latter obvious, but I realized I rarely considered either when I was choosing meals; when I was dieting, I selected my meals according to foods that fit with certain calorie counts, rather than what I actually wanted. But, since I’ve started asking myself “How would a food feel in my tummy?”, I usually find that a warm meal sounds the best and thus keeps me the most satiated. And, when I actually stop to consider what kind of flavor I want from a meal, I get the same result. So, I’ve found that a sandwich packed with protein and fiber isn’t as satisfying as a bowl of oatmeal, say, when the oatmeal is what I really want (unfortunately, oatmeal is rarely what I really want. If only.)

Afternoon Snack: None!

THIS was surprising. Usually, I’d just eat regardless of whether I was hungry because I “had the calories,” but yesterday I found I just didn’t need a snack and, for class=”mceItemHidden”> the first time in quite awhile, I consequently didn’t eat one. I AM HONORING MY HUNGER. Now, I just need to start eating a snack if I am genuinely hungry, but don’t have the calories.

Dinner: Two scrambled eggs; two pieces of toast topped with 4 g. of butter and 10 g. of cinnamon-sugar; One container of Fage 2% Total Yogurt with Cherry; one apple

This meal is a really great example of the “what do I really want” shift occurring when I choose my meals. Usually, I would have a more traditional dinner, but I’ve been craving eggs and cinnamon toast. So, I had it for dinner! And, it was ridiculously satisfying (check out what time I ate my after-dinner snack!) Sidenote: Microwaved eggs, while mildly spongey in texture, are actually pretty legit.

Snack (9 p.m.): 40 g. of Oatmeal with 3 oz. of skim milk and 10 g. of cinnamon-sugar; 5 g. of Nutella on a slice of bread

Yeah, I waited to eat my snack until I was actually hungry! Though, I think the most difficult part of my day was not continuing to eat when I knew I had more calories left for the day; indeed, I probably didn’t even need the Nutella on bread, but I chomped it anyway about 20 minutes after I had my oatmeal. Still, baby steps, I reckon.

Leave a Reply

