Maintenance: Day Two

On a recent trip to the movie theater to see a film for review, I lost my beloved metal water bottle somewhere along the line. And today, I also left its Klean Kanteen-replacement behind at the movie theater. Fortunately, I realized shortly after I got back to my dorm that it was missing and was able to call the theater to make sure they put it aside/had it, but I  won’t be able to pick it up until Thursday. This is kind of a pain in the ass, as I drink a frick-ton of water and I literally bring my water bottle with me everywhere, though I apparently should not bring it with me to the cinema. Lesson learned. I hate not having a water bottle; I guess at some point I’ll have to go buy a bottled beverage so I can use the container for water. I hope the movie theater doesn’t throw it away, though, since I won’t be able to get it right away.

I’m having a hard time with my appetite this week for some reason, even though I’m eating a little bit more on a daily basis. I think it’s just stress; I have two papers due Tuesday and a midterm and Justice work, and it seems a little overwhelming at the moment. I’m tempted to just chow, but I would be so disappointed if I had to start dieting again right after having reached my goal weight.

 Here’s what I noshed on today:

Pre-Workout Snack (7 a.m.): 6 g. of peanut butter on bread (80 calories); green tea

Breakfast (10 a.m.): 58 g. of Special K with 26 g. of Strawberry Frosted Mini-Wheats and 2 oz. of skim milk (310 calories)

Normally, I don’t like to eat breakfast this late, but I didn’t make it out the door until around 8:15 a.m., and my 6 mile run took 1 hour, 23 minutes and 40 seconds (thanks, iPod stopwatch). I always follow up my runs with a stretch, so I didn’t get around to the breakfast until 10 a.m. I’m glad I started integrating a pre-workout snack into my day; I would have been famished post-workout today, otherwise.

Snack: Fun size packet of M & Ms (75 calories)

So, because I needed more temptation in my life, I picked up some fun size Halloween candy at the grocery store this Friday. I was little hungry at noon and lunch wasn’t until 1 p.m. (I pack my lunch on days I go the movie theater so that it’s easier to pass by the snack stand—I’m not going to buy something when I’ve brought food), so I dug into the M & Ms. Initially, I thought this was a bad decision, as there weren’t very many M & Ms in the pack and I figured I should have picked something more likely to tide me over until lunch, but it actually staved off the nom-beast pretty well; when lunch time rolled around, I actually was hardly hungry. Thanks, sugar!

Lunch (1 p.m.): Roast beef sandwich (170 calories); 1/2 an apple (30 calories); 30 g. of Parmesan & Garlic Cheez-Its (150 calories)

Yes, I am bulking up my lunch! Last week, I added yogurt to the lunch round-up, but this week I’m going the cracker route. Granted, they’re definitely not as nutritionally pumped as yogurt, but you have to treat yourself, right? Also, my mum sent me these crackers, and a good snack cracker is a terrible thing to waste. For those of you who haven’t tried this variety, though, go pick up a box right now; the garlic flavor is noticable but not overpowering, and the parmesan taste is nice and sharp and gives way to the flavor of a regular Cheez-it (I never would have expected Cheez-Its to take me on such a culinary adventure, but, there you are).

Snack (4 p.m.): Tuna Sandwich (150 calories); 1/2 an apple (30 calories)

Dinner (6 p.m.): 3 oz. of carrots with 24 g. of Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (95 calories); two Oscar-Meyer Light Franks on two slices of bread (260 calories)

This is a fairly decent dinner, but I think that once I’m done with the pack of franks in my ‘fridge, I’m going to replace this dish with a new dinner entree; there’s just … something about hotdogs I don’t trust. Also, they are mad high in sodium. So, unless I can find a decent, low calorie, organic hotdog, I’m going to have to find something new to nosh on for dinner. I’m thinking egg sammiches, which I can finagle with my limited kitchen options. Any dinner recommendations?

I think I’m going to conclude the evening with a nice bowl of oatmeal, though I forgot to find new toppings the last time I went grocery shopping. I have some ideas, though, after reading this post on Eat Clean Live Green; I wonder how nutella would taste in oatmeal?

Also, the “Healthy Living” tag is getting obese. I should probably just get rid of it as 90% of the blog concerns “healthy living.”

2 Comments

  1. October 11, 2009 at 11:09 AM

    Nutella and oatmeal sounds awesome!

    That’s awesome you were able to track down your water bottle – even if you can’t get it for awhile!

    • October 11, 2009 at 4:20 PM

      I actually went back to get it today—it’s pretty bad that I couldn’t stand to go more than a day without it! And I can’t wait to start mixing up my oatmeal, I’m sad grocery store day isn’t until Friday.
      P.S. – Thanks for stopping by! Do you mind if I link to your blog? I don’t like to do so before I’ve asked permission, for some reason I feel like some people might be rubbed the wrong way by me all associatin’ their blog with my blog without askin’ first.


Leave a Reply

