Rediscovering Intuition: Day 16 of the Final Diet

So, I successfully made it through my first day of diet partial-success, and was rewarded today with a .6 pound loss (Yes, I weighed myself this morning, and now I am even more anxious about the upcoming weigh-in. I will be glad when this week is over).

I had a nice yoga session yesterday, too, though I am mad frustrated that I still cannot do downward dog properly.

Obey me, heels; touch the floor! Traitorous body parts! 

Though, I reckon my flexibility in comparison to my other yoga practitioners isn’t that bad considering I only started yoga about six months ago. I actually used to excercise every day and never took a day of rest during, but when I went to go see my school’s nutritionist I thought she was going to flip her shit that I didn’t take a day off from excercise, so I agreed to integrate a session of yoga in my excercise schedule in exchange for her not having a massive coronary. And, I’ve grown quite fond of the practice. Not only that, but I was under the severe misconception that if I didn’t do a full-fledged workout every day, I wouldn’t lose weight. However, I sometimes lose more weight in between a yoga session and the morning after than I do following a 6 mile run.

Anyway, here is what I chomped on yesterday:

Pre-Workout Snack (8 a.m.): 1/2 an apple (30 calories); Green Tea

My yoga instructor recommends only having a light snack prior to class, which makes sense; I can’t imagine Waterfall Pose is very enjoyable with a stack of pancakes in your tum. Luckily, class ends shortly after my usual breakfast time, so I’m not horribly hungry by the time my next meal rolls around.

Breakfast (10:40 a.m.): 1/2 an apple (30 calories); Fage 2% Greek Yogurt with Cherry (130 calories); 18 g. of almonds (115 calories)

On Tuesdays, I have to hoof it to my Media Ethics class directly after yoga, so I always pack my breakfast to eat during class—fortunately, my professor is a sweetheart and doesn’t mind mid-class noshing. Almonds are a nice source of healthy fats, and the yogurt supplies a decent chunk of protein (about 10 g. per serving). That, and the Fage Cherry Yogurt tastes vaguely like cheesecake sans crust. It is very creamy, a little sour and pairs wonderfully with the cherry preserves that come in an attached compartment.

Lunch (1 p.m.): Roast beef sandwich (170 calories); 3 oz. of baby carrots (35 calories) with 28 g. of Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Humus

So, I know some people might think it’s ridiculous to count the calories that are in carrots and other vegetables, but hey, those calories add up. If you sat down and ate a small bag of baby carrots, that’s approximately 150 calories. Regardless, I loveSabra humus with my veggies, particularly the red pepper variety. The spice of the  humus makes the meal much more interesting, and it has more protein and less fat than most salad dressings. And, a serving of humus is fairly large, which is good because I like to dip my sammich in the humus that’s leftover after I’ve finished my carrots.

Snack (3 p.m.): Tuna sandwich (150 calories); four Dove Caramel Milk Chocolate Promises (160 calories)

In an effort to train myself in restraint, I bought a bag of Dove chocolates at the grocery store this week. As I was buying them, I thought “Self, this is a terrible idea. You are going to chow on these things the moment you get stressed.” And, usually I would. But I wanted to teach myself to enjoy sweets in moderation, rather than only being able to eat them in large quantities. The bag called to me more than once, but the other day when I was tempted to binge, one of the things that held me back was the fact that I was really enjoying having a small treat each day rather than a gigantic one once a week (or month, if I were to binge). So, I thought; do I want that whole bag of chocolates today, or a little every other day? The bag is still mostly full. (A sidenote: This is my first time trying the caramel variety of the Dove chocolate line, which in my opinion is the highest quality chocolate [aside from Lindt] that you can purchase in grocery stores. Usually, I prefer the almond milk chocolate promises, but I was having a hankering for caramel and consequently picked these up, instead. While the chocolate itself is very good, as I would expect from Dove, the caramel itself is a little bit runnier than I prefer; personally, I like my caramel to be a bit on the chewy side. However, I found that putting the chocolates in the refrigerator/in my lunchbox with an icepack gave them the consistency I prefer.)

Dinner (6 p.m.): 100 g. of Barilla Pasta Plus with 4 g. of butter and 5 g. of parmesan cheese (420 calories)

Snack (8 p.m.): 40 g. of Oatmeal with 4 oz. of milk and 8 g. of brown sugar (220 calories)

Yep, this was hella better when made with only 4 oz. of milk (and a little bit more sugar). In fact, I think I’m going to have it again for my post-dinner snack tonight. For some reason (probably those delightful carbs.) it put me in a very relaxed state, and I slept well for the first time in a week. I’ve been very restless at night, lately; it has been taking me longer to doze off and I wake up every few hours. Blergh.

Le sigh. I want it to be Friday.

Leave a Reply

