Diet FAQ

Happy October! Personally, I cannot believe September is over; I feel like that month just started yesterday. It is like, dang, September, why you leavin’ the party, you just got here.

Anyway, before I launch into a daily account of what I eat/how much weight I’m losing/how I’m maintaining my weight, I thought I’d give a brief rundown of my dieting history and my current measurements; personally, nothing aggravates me more than when I come across a weight loss blog where the writer doesn’t tell me their height/caloric intake/other basic information. They could be 130 pounds and look terrible and I would say, “Oh, no! I weigh more than them, I must also look terrible!” And they could also be three feet tall, which changes things somewhat. Also, it’s very helpful for me, personally, whenever I find a calorie counter maintaining their weight who also gives their measurements. For, said counter could be eating 3,000 calories a day to maintain their weight, but that won’t work for me as I’m not six feet tall like they are. You see? So, here are some things:

How tall are you?

I’m 5′ 6″ tall. Technically, 5′ 6.5″ Every day I ask Jesus why he didn’t give me the extra half inch. Le sigh. As a 5′ 6″ tall lady, I’m shooting to be about 128 pounds again, even though I’m actually happy with how I look, now. OCD commands me to be in my 120s again. In all seriousness, though, I think I feel this need to be in my 120s because I don’t trust my own ability to assess how I look. So, while I may think I look thin, now, when the scale says I’m in my 120s, I know I’m thin. For reference, here is a (not very good) picture of me taken a year ago when I was at 128.6 pounds:

Museum

How many calories per day are you currently eating?

In my efforts to lose weight I’m eating an average of 1,600 calories per day. However, I stole my current diet plan from the Weight Watchers system: Every day, I give myself a base calorie allowance of 1,400 calories, and every week I give myself 1,400 Bonus Calories. When I actually follow this plan, it works pretty well and I lose a pound+ per week.

Why didn’t you just stick to the Weight Watchers plan?

I stuck to the Weight Watchers plan for about two years and yes, I did lose weight on it: I was about 148 pounds when I started and at one point reached a (way too low) weight of 116 pounds while on Weight Watchers. In those two years, though, I was bingeing once a week and eating 20 points every other day of the week. By the time I went to college, I was at 129 pounds (which was a good weight for me), but I still hadn’t learned to properly maintain my weight or how to stop binge eating; if I had figured out the maintenance portion of Weight Watchers, maybe it would have worked better for me, but I could never get out of the weekly binge-deprivation cycle. This is probably because—according to my school’s nutritionist—I was starving on the Weight Watchers diet. Have you ever translated points to calories? Chances are, 1 point for you is about 50 calories. So, this means I was getting about 1,000 calories a day, sometimes a little more, sometimes a little less. The result is that my body constantly craved quick energy, and so I binged once a week on candy and the like. Now, I eat a little more, but I still wonder if I’m not getting enough (even though I haven’t binged in quite some time), as I slip up fairly frequently (see intro post) and I’m very active.

How active are you?

I have a very wiggidy, complex excercise schedule. Well, not that complex. But, I rotate “excercise focuses” every three weeks. So, one week I’ll do a “Cardio” week, then a “Weights” week, then a “Yoga” week. A Cardio Week consists of two 5-mile runs, a 5-mile walk, a 3-mile walk, two 3-mile runs and a day of yoga. A Weights Week consists of two 5-mile runs, two 3-mile runs, two days of weight lifting and a day of yoga. A Yoga Week is the same as a Weights Week, except with a day of yoga rather than a day of weights. Get it? Also, sometimes I do more more miles than I actually require of myself, as you can see from this week’s excercise statistics (see sidebar).

 That’s all the basics I can think of to cover. Tomorrow’s my “official” weigh-in day, though I weigh myself every day, so it’s a little anti-climatic. At least The Office is on tonight and will take my mind off things. Does anyone else get really anxious the day before their weigh-in? It’s really ridiculous, but for some reason it’s one part of my old diet mentality that I can’t shake.

Leave a Reply

